National Lacrosse League
Names 2010 Hall of Fame Class

Rich Kilgour ranks 12th on the NLL all-time list with 294 goals.

John Tucker, Rich Kilgour and Dan Stroup Get the HOF Nod

New York (Tuesday, February 23, 2010) – The National Lacrosse League (NLL) has announced its 2010 Hall of Fame class, with John Tucker, Rich Kilgour and Dan Stroup receiving the career honors. The NLL Hall of Fame inducted its inaugural class in 2006, making this year’s group the fifth class to be recognized by the member clubs, current Hall of Famers and senior media of the NLL.

"All the guys like myself who played at the beginning years of the league, our goal was to help create something that would take hold and establish an opportunity for the next generation of players,” said Tucker, who was one of the original players in the NLL when it launched in 1987. “I am extremely proud to be part of that. I can't begin to explain how thrilled and humbled I am by my selection to the NLL Hall of Fame.”

Tucker enjoyed an eight-year career in the league as a player before taking over the reins as head coach of the Baltimore Thunder in 1997. He currently serves as an assistant coach for the Philadelphia Wings, whose six championships are the most of any team in league history.

Kilgour played 18 seasons with the Buffalo Bandits, and the four-time Champion’s Cup winner joins his brother and 2007 inductee Darris in the Hall in his first year of eligibility.

"As much as you can play by yourself, you're only going to be as good as your teammates on most nights,” Kilgour commented after receiving news of his induction. “We had some great leaders here in the beginning in Derek Keenan, Kevin Alexander and Bob Hamley. I learned a lot from those guys, and hopefully I passed it along to the guys I played with later.”

Similar to Kilgour, Stroup enters the NLL Hall of Fame in his first year of eligibility. A 13-year veteran, Stroup is currently 12th on league’s all-time scoring list with 294 goals.

"This is amazing. I was shocked and surprised", a humbled Stroup remarked. "I never could have imagined this. I am just getting over retiring and not playing, and this is incredible. I'd like to be remembered from my playing career as a good team guy. In a sport like ours, that's what's it all about. You can't win with just all-stars. Teams are made of 23 guys.”

The NLL is currently amid its 24th consecutive season of play, and the 2010 regular season will run until April with playoffs beginning immediately afterwards. The league currently has 11 teams, with eight in the United States and three in Canada.

For more information on the National Lacrosse League, visit

Search Archive »

Browse by Year »