Sky Blue FC Has Three Starters
Named to 2010 WPS All-Star Game

O'Reilly, Taylor and Bardsley have played pivotal roles in Sky Blue FC's success this season (Photos by ISI Photos).

GK Karen Bardsley, MF Heather O’Reilly and D Brittany Taylor Get the Nod

Somerset, N.J. (Wednesday, June 9, 2010) – Women’s Professional Soccer (WPS) announced today the 22 players who will start in the 2010 WPS All-Star Game presented by U.S. Coast Guard Reserve, which will kick off at 8:00 p.m. EST on Wednesday, June 30th, at KSU Soccer Stadium in Kennesaw, Georgia. On the list are three representatives from Sky Blue FC, with midfielder Heather O’Reilly getting her second consecutive All-Star nod, along with goalkeeper Karen Bardsley and first-year defender Brittany Taylor receiving their first All-Star Game bid.

“These players are three of our anchors, and they have played every minute of every game thus far this season,” Sky Blue FC head coach Pauliina Miettinen said of the trio. “I am proud of their strength and reliability, and of the work ethic and team spirit they will bring to the WPS All-Star game.”

The starting 22 players for the 2010 WPS All-Star Game were selected on ballots from players (25%), coaches (25%), media (25%) and online fan voting (25%).

“We are honored to have strong representation in the starting 22 of the WPS All-Star Game, especially two new faces that have come into prominence this season,” Sky Blue FC General Manager Gerry Marrone stated. “I am confident that these three will represent themselves and the team with distinction.”

The top two overall vote-getters in the league were forwards Abby Wambach (Washington Freedom) and Marta (FC Gold Pride), making the duo captains for the “Pick ‘Em” format under which the team selections will be conducted. Wambach will choose “Abby’s XI” with Philadelphia Independence head coach Paul Riley, while Marta will chose “Marta’s XI” with FC Gold Pride head coach Albertin Montoya on Monday, June 28th, two days prior to the WPS All-Star Game. The selection of coaches was made from the top two teams in the league standings as of Monday, June 7th.

“This is a fantastic lineup of talented players who will make for a great mid-summer festival of WPS soccer in Atlanta’s wonderful new stadium,” WPS Commissioner Tonya Antonucci commented on those named to the starting 22 roster slots.

The reserve players for the WPS All-Star Game will be selected later this month as Commissioner’s Picks.

The 2010 WPS All-Star Game will be televised live on Fox Soccer Channel and regionally on select Fox Sports Net affiliates (check local listings). Game coverage will start at 7:30pm EST on June 30th with a half-hour pregame show.

For information on tickets for the 2010 WPS All-Star Game, fans can call the Atlanta Beat directly at 678-298-4780. Group and individual tickets are now on sale.

2010 WPS All-Stars (Alphabetical):

Team Captains
Home Team:
Abby Wambach, Washington Freedom
Away Team: Marta, FC Gold Pride

Goalkeepers (2)
Karen Bardsley, Sky Blue FC
Hope Solo, Atlanta Beat

Defenders (6)
Rachel Buehler, FC Gold Pride
Tina Ellertson, Atlanta Beat
Allison Falk, Philadelphia Independence
Amy LePeilbet, Boston Breakers
Brittany Taylor, Sky Blue FC
Cat Whitehill, Washington Freedom

Midfielders (8)
Sonia Bompastor, Washington Freedom
Shannon Boxx, FC Gold Pride
Lori Chalupny, Atlanta Beat
Kristine Lilly, Boston Breakers
Lori Lindsey, Philadelphia Independence
Aya Miyama, N/A
Heather O'Reilly, Sky Blue FC
Kelly Smith, Boston Breakers

Forwards (6)
Eniola Aluko, Atlanta Beat
Ramona Bachmann, Atlanta Beat
Lauren Cheney, Boston Breakers
Marta, FC Gold Pride
Christine Sinclair, FC Gold Pride
Abby Wambach, Washington Freedom

Top Overall Vote-Getters
1.) Abby Wambach, Washington Freedom
2.) Marta, FC Gold Pride
3.) Sonia Bompastor, Washington Freedom
4.) Eniola Aluko, Atlanta Beat
5.) Shannon Boxx, FC Gold Pride
6.) Kelly Smith, Boston Breakers
7.) Christine Sinclair, FC Gold Pride
8.) Lori Lindsey, Philadelphia Independence
9.) Amy LePeilbet, Boston Breakers
10.) Hope Solo, Atlanta Beat

Top 3 Vote Getters – Players Vote (% of ballots cast)
1.) Amy LePeilbet, Boston Breakers (70%)
2.) Marta, FC Gold Pride (64%)
3.) Shannon Boxx, FC Gold Pride (61%)

Top 3 Vote Getters – Coaches Vote (% of ballots cast)
1.) Abby Wambach, Washington Freedom (100%)
Marta, FC Gold Pride (100%)
Kelly Smith, Boston Breakers (100%)

Top 3 Vote Getters – Media Vote (% of ballots cast)
1.) Sonia Bompastor, Washington Freedom (100%)
Eniola Aluko, Atlanta Beat (100%)
2.) Abby Wambach, Washington Freedom (94%)

Top 3 Vote Getters – Fan Vote (% of ballots cast)
1.) Abby Wambach, Washington Freedom (31%)
2.) Marta, FC Gold Pride (27%)
3.) Hope Solo, Atlanta Beat (27%)

The next game action for Sky Blue FC comes on Sunday when the team travels to New England for a road pairing with the Boston Breakers. The team will return to New Jersey on Saturday, June 19th, to host Philadelphia, and tickets for that game are available now by clicking here or calling 1-888-SBFC-TIX.

Search Archive »

Browse by Year »