Malegarie Completes Bellator Tournament

Malegarie brings a perfect 19-0 record to Bellator (Photo courtesy of Bellator).
Bookmark and Share

Season 4 Featherweight Tournament Now Set

The final entrant of the Bellator Season 4 Featherweight Tournament has now been selected, with the promotion confirming undefeated Argentine fighter Nazareno Malegarie (19-0) as its eighth and final competitor. The tournament gets underway this March on MTV2, with the winner taking a $100,000 purse and earning a title shot against current champion Joe Warren.

“Nazareno has had tremendous success in Brazil and is ready for this world class featherweight tournament,” Bellator Chairman and CEO Bjorn Rebney stated. “Our team’s done a spectacular job finding fighters from around the world that can compete at the highest level, and Nazareno is one of those fighters.”

In just over three years as a professional Mixed Martial Artist, Malegarie has compiled 19 wins and not a single blemish on his flawless record. Fighting out of the Ataque Duplo Gym in Brazil, the 24-year-old native of Santa Catarina has stopped 17 of his 19 opponents, registering five TKO victories and 12 submissions. The Brazilian National Jiu-Jitsu Champion and Black Belt has dominated the competition while competing in Brazil, and he is now eager to show off his well polished game in the United States under the Bellator banner.

“I’m just very excited to finally have the chance to show fans in the United States what I'm capable of,” Malegarie said. “Signing with Bellator was very important for me, and I’m ready to prove myself.”

With Malegarie ready to take the next step in his Mixed Martial Arts career, he hopes to show fans of Bellator that he is one of the top featherweight prospects in the sport.

“I’m looking forward to testing myself in this upcoming Bellator Featherweight Tournament,” Malegarie continued. “I’ve worked really hard to get to this spot, and I want to let people know who I am.”

With the addition of Malegarie to the Bellator Featherweight Tournament, the field is now officially set. The crafty Brazilian joins Patricio Freire, Wilson Reis, Daniel Straus, Georgi Karakhanyan, Kenny Foster, Eric Larkin and Zac George as the final participant in the competition.

Search Archive »

Browse by Year »