Wilkes-Barre Awarded First NALL Franchise

The Wilkes-Barre club will play at Mohegan Sun Arena.
Bookmark and Share

North American Lacrosse League to Begin Play in January 2012

On behalf of the newly founded North American Lacrosse League (NALL), Commissioner Phil Evans announced on Friday the first team ownership group for the league. Based out of Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, the ownership group consists of Joe DeLuca, Jim Jennings, John "Jack" Manzella, Aaron Musselman, Anthony "Chip" Santye, Ron Costello and Tom Cataldo. The organization was officially announced at a 2:00 p.m. press conference at the Mohegan Sun Arena, a 9500-seat facility where the team will play its home slate of games.

“This is going to be great for the area, and we know that people who come to the games will enjoy the hard-hitting action of the North American Lacrosse League,” Commissioner Evans stated. “We are thrilled to be able to offer major league entertainment to the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton area. Many players who play on this team are the top U.S. players you just saw at the NCAA College Lacrosse Finals this past weekend on ESPN. Not only will it be a competitive group on the turf, the team we have here will also be a big part of the community.”

In addition to the announcement of the franchise in Wilkes-Barre, former National Lacrosse League Commissioner and Wilkes-Barre managing partner Jim Jennings was named the Team President of the club. When it kicks off in January, the team will join the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins of the American Hockey League as the primary tenants at Mohegan Sun Arena.

“This is an exciting day for us to have another great tenant in the building,” said Rebecca Bonnevier, arena manager at Mohegan Sun Arena. “We think that this league and ownership group will be very successful here in the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton region, and we are looking forward to having the first game here in January.”

Also on hand at the press conference today were representatives from Misericordia University, Wilkes University, Kings College, Scranton University, and East Stroudsburg University; John Maday and Jean Kile of the Wilkes-Barre Chamber of Commerce; and Mayor Carl Kuren of Wilkes-Barre Township and Mayor Thomas M. Lehighton of the City of Wilkes-Barre.

Season tickets for the Wilkes-Barre team start at just $112 and are now available to purchase online at www.wbslacrosse.com or by calling a representative at (570) 371-3825. Only a $20 deposit is needed to reserve your seats. Fans can also check out the team out on Facebook and Twitter.

With Wilkes-Barre now on board, more NALL team announcements are expected to be announced in the coming weeks.

Search Archive »

Browse by Year »